TYB Awards were presented to Award Winners at Yedikule Fortress

The ‘Writers, Intellectuals and Artists’ awards of 2021, given by the Writers Union of Turkey (TYB), were presented to award winners at Yedikule Fortress.

TYB awards, which have been held traditionally for 41 years, were presented to their winners at the ceremony hosted by Fatih Municipality in Yedikule Fortress. Speaking at the ceremony where awards were given to 31 people and institutions in 29 different categories, Fatih Mayor M. Ergün Turan said: “I would like to express my pleasure to host TYB, one of Turkey’s deep-rooted cultural institutions, in Fatih. Fatih is an important and inspiring place for many artists. I would like to congratulate all the individuals and institutions that received an award.”

Speaking at the award ceremony, TYB Honorary Chairman D. Mehmet Doğan said that he perceives these awards, which are presented for the 41st time, as an assessment of the writers, intellectuals and artists of the year. Noting that more than 1200 writers, intellectuals and artists have received this award over the years, Doğan said: “Highly distinguished personalities of our country are among those who received awards as a result of this assessment in all fields of literature and art. I am of the opinion that it is an award system that gives rise to other awards because it is both the oldest and the most established one.”

[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”244″ display=”basic_thumbnail”]